Writing print stories in journalism is exciting; however, it can be quite challenging. When encountering the task of writing a print story, one must be able to anlazye meticulously a given set of facts and quotations . Upon analyzation, it requires you to put these facts and quotations into a concise manner in which consumers can relate and understand the news stories they are reading. In others words, one should the apply the elements of news (proximity, prominence, controversial/ conflict, impact, timeliness, and singularity) to write quality print stories.

Some of the challenges I faced while writing my print story were that in some cases I tended to use wordy phrases. Wordy phrases can be easily done when writing because you were once taught to write in this manner for English courses; however,  conciseness and smaller word choices are some fundamental concepts to writing in journalism. If these two concepts are followed, along with applying the elements of news, quality print stories will be produced. I approached the assignment by first examing and analyzing the sheet of facts and quotations. I looked for errors in APA rules and made connections between the facts and quotations. Then, I began to put the facts in a concise order using the inverted pyramid style. After completing these tasks, I looked over my notes to aid me in the organization of my story ( e.g. how to write headlines, sluglines, signaling the end of a print story, attributions for quotations). Honestly speaking, I went through about 4-5 drafts. My first draft was well written and organized,but I needed to be more specific in some areas in which I used wordy phrases. In my opinion, I am confident in my proofreading and editing skills, but I do not feel as if I am the best. Thus, I feel there is always room for further growth and improvement. As I go through my major and continue to write and or speak about different issues, I will become more confident in my proofreading and editing skills.

